Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 5 of 6 copies available at SC LENDS. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Dorchester County Library System.

Current holds

0 current holds with 6 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Dorchester - Summerville Branch FIC MCT (Text) 30018005732637 Adult Fiction Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780143133698
  • ISBN: 0143133691
  • Physical Description: 362 pages ; 21 cm
  • Publisher: New York : Penguin Books, [2019]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
When Dr. Emma Sweeney stumbles across the victim of a hit-and-run outside Galway University early one morning, she calls her boyfriend, Detective Cormac Reilly, bringing him first to the scene of a murder that would otherwise never have been assigned to him. The dead girl is carrying an ID that will put this crime at the center of a scandal--her card identifies her as Carline Darcy, heir apparent to Darcy Therapeutics, Ireland's most successful pharmaceutical company. Darcy Therapeutics has a finger in every pie, from sponsoring university research facilities to funding political parties to philanthropy--it has even funded Emma's own ground-breaking research. As the murder investigation twists in unexpected ways and Cormac's running of the case comes under scrutiny from the department and his colleagues, he is forced to question himself and the beliefs that he has long held as truths. Who really is Emma? And who is Carline Darcy? A gripping and atmospheric follow-up to The Ruin, an "expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden" (Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King's Daughter), The Scholar is perfect for fans of Tana French and Flynn Berry. -- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Murder > Investigation > Fiction.
Family secrets > Fiction.
Women scientists > Fiction.
Medicine > Research > Fiction.
Galway (Ireland) > Fiction.
Genre: Mystery fiction.
Detective and mystery fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)

Additional Resources