Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1

Before we were yours : a novel / Lisa Wingate.

Wingate, Lisa, author. (Author).
Image of item

Available copies

  • 3 of 95 copies available at SC LENDS. (Show)
  • 0 of 2 copies available at Kershaw County Library System.

Current holds

133 current holds with 95 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Kershaw - Camden Library Wingate (Text) 33255003496529 Adult New Book Checked out 06/06/2018
Kershaw - Elgin Library Wingate (Text) 33255003496511 Adult New Book Checked out 05/29/2018

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780425284681
  • ISBN: 0425284689
  • Physical Description: 342 pages ; 24 cm
  • Edition: First Edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books, [2017]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge--until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents--but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiance, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals--in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country--Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong. -- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Brothers and sisters > Fiction.
Orphanages > Fiction.
Tennessee > Fiction.
South Carolina > Fiction.
Genre: Historical fiction.
Domestic fiction.
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1

Additional Resources